LADC Recital 2017

Now that Nationals are over, I guess it’s time to finish my posts about the rest of the dance season. They were previously started, but never finished…

This year’s recital title, was “Perfect 10,” to commemorate the 10 year anniversary of Lake Area Dance Center. There were 4 shows. The two I saw were great!!

 

SET UP 

I was part of the small crew that helped set up for the recitals. I have done this for a few years in the past. This year, we got the floors unrolled, taped down, and everything ready to rock and roll in record time!

DRESS REHEARSALS

This year, I volunteered to take pictures during dress rehearsals. We got a new camera this year, and I’ve enjoyed experimenting with the different lenses. I finally got some decent pictures!! I enjoyed going from the balcony, to the line up area, to the floor level to get various shots. The appreciation I got from the studio owner made the bruises on my hip/leg (from bumping into the arm rests of the seats) all worth it!

RECITALS

There were 4 shows – two that included both Recreational and Competitive level dances, one Competitive Gala, and a Solo/Duet/ Trio Showcase. Both my kids were in the 1st show. I decided not to volunteer for this show, and just watch. I’m so glad I did! I really enjoyed the almost 3 hour show. Watching my kids shine on stage was awesome!

Show 2, I volunteered for. I have always been with preschoolers, but was assigned to 1st/2nd graders instead. I wasn’t even sure what to bring for this group, but I came armed with a handful of books, and Uno. This proved to be enough to mostly entertain them (well, those and the coloring books provided for the volunteers by the studio). I also had a high school student from one of our sister studios, Woodbury Dance Center, with my group. While I taught a group of the girls to play Uno, Emily colored with the other ones. We had a great time with these girls. 

Show 3 was the Competitive Gala. I got to watch this one too. It was beyond worth the price of admission, as the best dances at the studio were featured here. I love watching the dances get more and more polished as the season goes on. I can’t wait for Nationals in a couple weeks! 

We did not stay for show 4, the Solo Showcase. I’m sure it was a very entertaining show, as many of the solos are Musical Theater, Tap – my favorite styles to watch. There were also solos in the styles of jazz, ballet, lyrical, and contemporary.

 

The shows all seemed to run quite smoothly. Aside from one poor preschool peeing herself on stage, and the cleanup that required, there were no delays that I noticed.

It amazes me what a well-oiled machine the recital has become. I know there are many pieces that go on back stage to make sure this happens. The team that works together to make sure things run well is incredible!

Kudos to LADC for a successful 10th season… here’s to many more!

 

Leave a Reply

