My New Favorite Work Out

I wrote many years ago about how much I enjoy exercise, and movement. Dancing has always been my favorite way to “work out.” To me, it’s not just about the movement, it’s about the full connection of my mind, body, and spirit. I love the way dancing makes me feel. Over the past several years since we have been back in MN, I have been taking tap classes at Lake Area Dance Center. It has been great! I plan to continue as long as I am able to (hopefully, that’s a LONG time). I have made some great friends along the way, and, as an added bonus, reconnected with old ones.

Recently, Jason and I have been working out at Lifetime Fitness a lot more. We are trying to get back in shape, and we’ve been working hard. We’ve been members of this gym for 5+ years, but haven’t gone nearly as often as we should (until recently). Nowadays, we are there 3-5 days/week. I have tried a few different group classes (they tend to be very motivating for me), but I found a new favorite – zumba! It’s basically dancing… zumba mixes classic aerobics with latin, hip hop, and bollywood moves. You basically dance for 45 minutes to an hour (depending on the class/instructor). You are moving your whole body for the entire time. It’s exhausting, but so much fun!

I have been going for about a month or so at the White Bear Lake club on Friday mornings. I’ve really enjoyed it, but wanted more. I tried the weekend classes at the Fridley club a few times. WOW! Zumba at Fridley is faster, and has more hip hop and bollywood incorporated. There’s a lots of booty shaking, but it’s not just that. It’s a great workout overall. If you haven’t tried zumba, I highly encourage you to try it, no matter where!

 

Leave a Reply

