Polar Plunge 2016

Next weekend, I’ll be taking the Plunge – again! I’ll be participating for the first time in White Bear Lake’s Polar Plunge.

045Two years ago, I jumped into Lake Calhoun to help raise money for the Special Olympics of Minnesota. We have a small team going this year… I guess we scared away the rest with our bitter cold day last time! It WAS dang cold, and if I wasn’t half crazy, I wouldn’t do it again.

 

Fortunately, (or unfortunately), I AM half crazy, and have a great cause for jumping this year again. I am assisting a very sweet young woman, Lizzy, at Lake Area Dance Center again this year. She is taking a Teen Lyrical class, and I get to work with her! Lizzy is also a multiple sport Special Olympian. When she’s not dancing (or jamming to music), she’s bowling, playing basket ball, and playing floor  hockey with her Special Olympics teams. She also does track and field in the spring, and bocce ball! She is one busy lady!

Here we are at the beginning of the dance season... Elke (a friend), me, Lexie (one of the teachers), and Lizzy.

Here we are at the beginning of the dance season… Elke (a friend), me, Lexie (one of the teachers), and Lizzy.

It is in her honor that I am jumping to raise money for such a great cause. Please consider donating to help me reach my goal of $500! You can donate here. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

