Christmas Memories

It’s the morning of Christmas Eve – my favorite day of the year. I woke up early, because I was excited. This happens every year!

DSCN13620189When I was growing up, Christmas Eve WAS Christmas. It was the day we’d open our presents, it was the day we’d go to church, it was the day we’d go to my grandparent’s house for a potluck style meal and presents. My favorite part of Christmas Eve was always the reading of the Christmas story from the Bible. Every year, my grandpa would read a different version. Sometimes, it might be the King James, or NIV Bible; sometimes, it was from a different Gospel. Our favorite, was always the version as written in Luke.

As I became an adult, Christmas Eve took on a different feel. The excitement was there, but it was different. When I became a mom, and I was excited for my kids. I didn’t care if I got a present or not, I was just excited to watch them open theirs. I still looked forward to listening to my Grandpa read the Christmas story.

The last few years, we no longer get together at my grandpa’s house. He sold his house a few years after my grandma passed away, and moved into an apartment. Sometimes, he and his wife come over to my mom’s house for Christmas, sometimes, they go to another aunt’s house. I miss listening to him read the story. I think I need to record him reading it, so that we can play it every year.

We now get together at my Mom’s – sometimes Christmas Eve, sometimes the weekend before or the weekend after. Our Christmas celebration as a family changes every year too (depending on if we have all the kids together for Christmas or not). Even as traditions have changed, Christmas Eve remains my favorite day of the year. I dream about the kids opening their gifts, I wake up early, and I look forward to whatever it is that we are doing that day. No matter what it is, I won’t forget the reason we celebrate this day.

038

Post Christmas Eve update:  My grandpa was not originally going to be able to make it to my mom’s today, but showed up just before dinner. We all wanted to have him read the Bible story as in the years past. I tried to record it, but ran out of space on my camera. 😦 Apparently, the last time I uploaded pictures, it did not delete the pictures as I thought. I was so bummed. I told my grandpa that I wanted to record him reading it at another time. He looked at me like I was crazy. I don’t think he quite understands how important this tradition is to many of us in the family.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Comments are closed.

