Pumpkin Bar Recipe

Every year, I re-share a post I wrote a couple years ago, which includes my favorite recipes of most of the holiday goodies I make.

Last weekend, my 15 year old step-son requested I make pumpkin bars. That’s saying a lot. He usually doesn’t ask for much of anything!

Pumpkin bars, fresh out of the oven. They need to cool completely before frosting them. YUM!

Pumpkin bars, fresh out of the oven. They need to cool completely before frosting them. YUM!

I thought I’d share the recipe of these delicious bars! The recipe comes from a previous co-worker, Ruth Hayek. We haven’t worked together in over 7 years, but I still have the recipe card she gave me, and think of her every time I make them!

This recipe makes a 12 x 18 bar pan.

Ingredients:

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

1 cup oil

15 oz. can pumpkin (or you can use 15 oz of pureed pumpkin from your own cooked pumpkin too – just as good)

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground cloves

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

Mix sugar, oil, eggs, and pumpkin in a large bowl. Sift remaining ingredients  together and add to pumpkin mixture. Stir well. Pour into greased and floured jelly roll/bar pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes (until toothpick inserted in various areas comes out clean).

Cool completely before frosting.

Frosting:

6 oz cream cheese – softened

3/4 stick butter or margarine – softened or melted

1 Tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups powdered sugar

Mix well with mixer, then frost bars.

If you love pumpkin, and want something other than pumpkin pie, make these. You won’t be sorry!

Leave a Reply

