Walking in the Relay for Life

In the past, I have walked the Susan G. Komen 3 Day for the Cure. While I still strongly believe in much of what they’ve done in making progress to ending breast cancer, I felt that this year, it was time to do something a bit different.

Last year, a very important man lost his battle with cancer. This man was the father of one of my best friends, and was almost like another parent while I was growing up. I also lost a friend who had previously been a mentor to me. Neither of these wonderful people fought breast cancer. Because of this, I felt it was time to support an organization that was looking for a cure for all types of cancer (even though, I still believe progress against one type of cancer will lead to progress against all cancers). The American Cancer Society is the organization I am supporting this year. In the past, when I sold Partylite, I also helped them raise over a million dollars a year for this organization.

This year, I am joining my friend who lost her dad, another friend who lost her aunt, and many, many others in raising money through the Relay for Life.

Why I Chose to Participate in a Relay Event

Because I know WAY too many people, who either have fought, are fighting, or have lost their fight with cancer! I don’t want this list to get any longer!! I don’t want anyone else to lose a father, mother, aunt, uncle, grandma, grandpa, child or grandchild, sister or brother to this disease.

It’s amazing to think that millions of people will be diagnosed with cancer this year. A Relay For Life event is not only a way to join my community to fight back against cancer, but it is also a way to inspire hope by raising funds and awareness to help those facing the disease.

Who I’m Participating For
All the people I know who have lost their fight with various types of cancer:

  • Kathy Hong (a friend of the family, I didn’t know her well, but I have gotten to know the young children she left behind).
  • Janette Paulsen (a co-worker, mentor, and lover of life and children)
  • Eric Stevens (a close friend who lost his battle at age 29)
  • Jodel Blumenthal (one of my best friend’s aunt)
  • Fred Sjolander (my kids’ great grandpa who is probably singing around a campfire up in heaven right now)
  • Suzy Goodsell (a friend from church, also a mentor)
  • Mark Hayek (co-worker’s husband)
  • Tom Flater (a best friend’s dad, who was like another parent of mine growing up)

Those I know who are currently fighting cancer:

  • Yanni Robel (an amazing woman with blood cancer, she fights with medication, and by running marathons to raise money)
  • Tom Roush (member of the SQL Community)
  • Cathy Grimm (a secretary in our district, she’s our lifeline)
  • Ina Meyer (while I believe she is currently cancer-free, she continues to battle residual effects from the multiple surgeries she’s had for brain cancer)
  • Lynn (one of the parents of one of my preschoolers from two years ago. I don’t know the current status of her fight, as she was diagnosed toward the end of our school year)

Those I know who are currently cancer-free, or as they will tell you “currently not showing any signs of cancer in their body”:

  • Carrie Malicki (a good friend, past neighbor, advocate for breast cancer awareness)
  • Peg Traeder (Carrie’s mom, who was diagnosed just a few weeks after she was)
  • Brigitte Wolfangel (member of the family)
  • Holli Doyle-Sautbine (we used to sell Partylite together, had a long fight against breast cancer)
  • Sherri Vonderheid (a parent from the dance studio we used to attend in Eau Claire)
  • Rosie Zimmerman (my husband’s grandma, was diagnosed with breast and colon cancer in the same week)
  • Cheryl Simmons (my friend’s mom, also like another parent to me when I was growing up)

I hope you will consider making a donation in support of my efforts. My fundraising page can be accessed here: Sarah’s fundraising page.

Together, we have the power to help create a world where cancer can no longer claim another year of anyone’s life.  My hope is that  “the C word” is no longer be an active part of anyone’s vocabulary!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Relay for Life 2013 | My Life as a Dancem0m

Leave a Reply

