A Coffee Connoisseur I am Not

coffee_and_steamI really enjoy my coffee. Some of my favorite memories include having coffee.

When I was growing up, my mom, brother and I would meet my grandma at Denny’s for breakfast every Sunday after church. I was probably 12 or so when my mom started letting me order coffee. I don’t know if I actually liked the taste of it then, or if I just felt like it made me “one of the girls” and “one of the grown-ups”. I always had lots of cream and sugar in it… Even as those days of going out to breakfast every week became fewer and further between, I enjoyed having coffee with my mom in the morning. Sometimes, we’d sit on our porch, or even just sat in the yard, looking out at the lake, enjoying our coffee. In the winter, it was a quick way to warm up. Even when there weren’t a lot of words, it was a bonding time with my mom… As an adult, we still enjoy the occasional cup (or pot) of coffee together, just not as often as we used to.

When I was in college, the coffee came late at night, after going out. Sometimes, a group of friends would all meet up at Perkins where we would drink pot after pot of coffee, and just hang out until we were kicked out. They had a 2 hour limit, we often exceeded that, sometimes staying from sunset until sunup. At that point, the coffee became a necessity, because I’d have to go to classes all day.

As much as I enjoy my morning cup of coffee, I AM still Minnesotan. When it comes to spicy foods and coffee, I don’t like them strong! I drink my coffee fairly weak, and usually with lots of “flavor.” My flavor comes in the form of cream and sugar or liquid creamer. My favorite creamers are by Coffee-Mate. My top 3 are Fat Free French Vanilla (not because I’m watching my fat intake, but because I like the taste better), Pumpkin Spice, and Peppermint Mocha. I don’t care for International Delight. They don’t tend to be as flavorful (in my opinion – I know others who think opposite of me on creamers).

I do like coffee shop coffees, but not the “regular” ones. I find them too bitter, and too strong for my taste. That is also the reason I don’t care for some of the brands of coffee I have found available in K-Cups. I have found I prefer to use the My K-Cup with my own coffee grounds. I do, however, really like the Donut House and Cafe Mocha varieties of K-Cups, along with the Chai Latte.

When I do go to a coffee shop, I tend to stick to “my usual”… if it is somewhere I have never been before, I will usually order a Mocha or White Chocolate Mocha. When I was in Seattle last month, I got coffee at Tully’s every day (convenience was a HUGE plus). The White Chocolate Mocha was AMAZING! 🙂

When I go to Starbuck’s, which is rare, given that there aren’t as many here in MN, I will order a Chocolate Mocha, or a Mocha Frappuccino if it is summer. If it is close to Christmas, I will order the Peppermint Mocha (newly discovered, I like it better with skim milk).

If I go to Caribou, most likely in MN, since they are local, I LOVE the Campfire Mocha. I discovered the hard way though that drinking them every day will lead to packing on some extra pounds.

We also have a Dunn Bros. Coffee nearby. I really like their Pumpkin Spice latte.

I know many coffee lovers will disagree with my choices, or tell me I need to drink some “real coffee.” I like my coffee the way I like it, but mostly, I like the time spent enjoying it with someone else.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:23:32

    For those of us who like our coffee weaker, but also love some of the flavors the keurig offers, use a large cup, and use the same cup but make a large and then add a small – the second cup is much weaker and lightens up the whole cup. 🙂
    Try ca cafe caramel. I think next time I make it I’m going to try mixing cafe caramel and cafe mocha. Doesn’t that sound yum! A bit like a mocha milky way.

    Reply

  2. Sarah S.
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 21:48:02

    Mom,

    That mix does sound good! Let me know how it tastes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

