Revving up for The 3 Day

Last year’s team: “We CARRIE on until we PEG a cure.” on Opening Morning,

The 3 Day for the Cure is just over 12 weeks away. I can’t believe how quickly it is coming up. I REALLY need to get both my training, and my fundraising in high gear.

Training

So far, I’ve walked 102.2 miles since January. I know there were a few more walks in there, but I think I forgot to record them all. Anyway, I need to increase that number significantly. In just 12 short weeks, I need to do over half that in just 3 days!

According to the training schedule The 3 Day gives us, I should be walking 10 miles this weekend. I just got back from an almost 6 mile walk, and now have wobbly legs. That tells me I need to do more 5+ mile walks! Once 5-7 miles becomes easy, I’ll up it to 10 or so.

It’s amazing, if you would have told me a year and a half ago that a 3 mile walk would be easy, I would have thought you were joking! Now, 3 miles is a breeze. Up it a couple more miles, and it gets challenging. Then again, I did walk 60 miles last year. Never thought I could do that either!

Fundraising

So far, I have raised $145 towards my goal of $2500. I am currently working on fundraising letters that will be sent out this weekend. I also have a garage sale planned for June 15th, with 25% of all my sales going towards my fundraising efforts. A teammate of mine and I are working on a bowling event on August 5th (details will be posted soon).

I am also working on making a tutu-style skirt that I will wear on The 3 Day walk. You can purchase a ribbon for the skirt with a donation of $2 or more per ribbon. I have 3 color choices: light or dark pink for those currently fighting breast cancer and survivors; and white ribbons you can purchase in memory of someone who lost their fight with breast cancer. I will put the person’s name on the ribbon and attach it to the skirt.

If you would like to donate to this great cause, here’s the link to my fundraising page:

Sarah Strate’s Fundraising Page

Please feel free to also pass this site on to anyone else you know who may be looking to donate to help end breast cancer.

Leave a Reply

