Still Walking for The Cure

This may be the most controversial post I have ever written. It likely will be the most controversial I EVER write. I usually try to avoid writing on topics that are political, or that people are fired up about. When it comes to the Susan G Komen Foundation, people are definitely fired up! I ask that you respect my opinion, even if yours differs from mine. I don’t want to start a debate, or burn any bridges. I simply want to state my reasons for continuing my quest to raise funds for and walk The 3 Day for the Cure. I don’t know that I can state it any better than this post.

As I have stated in the past, I have known far too many women whose lives have been affected by breast cancer. I want to do what I can to help fund breast cancer research, so they can find a cure. There are many major organizations out there contributing to this cause. The Susan G Komen Foundation is just one of them. There is also Avon, who sponsors a 2 day walk, and many, many other organizations that contribute to the cause.

To me, it’s about breast cancer research. It’s about the community of people who come together to raise awareness for breast cancer, and who support each other. It’s about men and women whose lives have been affected. We all have the same goal – getting rid of this horrible disease that takes too many lives – of mothers, daughters, sisters, co-workers, and grandmas. It’s about finding a cure not only for breast cancer, but also to help find the cure for other cancers: liver cancer, lung cancer, brain cancer, leukemia, colon cancer, testicular cancer, prostate cancer, pancreatic cancer, melanoma. It’s not just about women’s health, it’s about everyone’s health.

For the record, I do not agree with everything Susan G. Komen (SGK) does. I think it’s ridiculous that they sue other organizations raising money for the same cause, but use “For the Cure” in their titles. To be honest, I don’t necessarily agree with them supporting Planned Parenthood (PP) in the first place. While I think there are some good things that come out of PP, I can’t help but come back to the fact that they also support abortions. I wondered why the people who were turned off by that fact, didn’t have a louder voice when the whole controversy about SGK cutting their grant money to PP came out in the first place?? Here’s what Nancy Brinker Founder and CEO of SGK has to say about the controversy. I would have thought there would be as many people celebrating the choice as ticked off by it.

I started writing this post in the heart of the controversial changes to SGK’s funding policies. Since then, they have reworded their policies, and PP will be receiving funding after all. Officially, they released this statement. Some key quotes: “Our only goal for our granting process is to support women and families in the fight against breast cancer.” and “It is our hope and we believe it is time for everyone involved to pause, slow down and reflect on how grants can most effectively and directly be administered without controversies that hurt the cause of women.” While I admit, some things were handled poorly, I also agree, it’s time to move on. Here’s a letter that SGK sent out to those of us committed to walking The 3 Day. It has a better explanation of where their grant money is going.

It is with a heavy heart that I have come back to the draft version of this post over and over. I’ve tweaked it, debated posting it… Tonight, as I have learned of yet another name to add to the ever-growing list of people I know fighting breast cancer, my decision is reiterated. I know some really great kids with amazing moms who are fighting for their lives. I am walking The 3 Day yet again this year. I want these kids to have their moms for a very long time. I want to do what I can to help in the fight!

Next year, I may choose to walk for another cancer organization, one with a more broad scope in researching all types of cancer. I don’t know. For this year, I am committed to walking for 3 days. I believe that progress in one area of cancer research will benefit other types of cancer as well.

If you love someone who has fought breast cancer (or have yourself), please consider donating any amount to help me reach my goal of $2500. Sarah Strate’s fundraising page.

Leave a Reply

