Get Hawt – Week 6

This week, our blogging topic is substitution. I have only been substituting little things: homemade spaghetti for the canned stuff (soup too) for a quick and easy lunch on the days I work. I’ve cut way back on the amount of pop I drink. Hardly ever do I have more than 2 cans a day. When I do, I feel like crap! I’ve been substituting water for the sugary drinks, and noticing a huge difference. I have to admit though, on my long work days, I don’t drink nearly as much water as I should, so I tend to chug it when I get home. I have to remember to bring a water bottle to work, then I do better. I have been adding in fresh veggies/fruits to my daily meals. Substituting them for the mass quantity of crackers I was eating (I still like to have crackers on occasion though). I guess you could say I’m also substituting exercise for sitting around, wasting time on social media. I still do that plenty, but I’m also exercising more. Due to the increased activity, I’m substituting some of the fat on my body for muscle. Even though the number on the scale has gone done by only 4 lbs in the last 6 weeks, I can see and feel a difference.

This past week, I have been rather lazy. I think I used my back injury as an excuse to take it easy. While it really did hurt, my not pushing through may have contributed to the additional stiffness. Sunday I did crunches and pushups. Then, on Thursday, I finally got to the gym again, where I walked about 2 miles, doing intervals of 3-18% incline. For the record, the treadmill that broke last week while I was on it, was still out of commission, and stuck on about a 45 degree incline. No wonder it hurt to walk it for so long! I also did some crunches and pushups on Thursday night. Friday, I spent the entire day walking around the Outlet Mall with a friend of mine. Though I didn’t officially track my miles, I bet we walked at least 2-3 miles.

That’s about all I’ve got for this week. Next week promises to be better.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: #GetHawt Week 6 Roundup – Subbing « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

