Get Hawt, Week 4

Another week has gone by. My weight is still up and down. I hit a new low this week, then went back up to just a lb under where I started. It’s slowly heading back down, but still not back to that low. I am also way off track from my gradual decline on the graph. Still within my limit, but not on the line.

This week, Jen asked us what isn’t working about what we’re doing. Here’s what’s not working: “I just did 92 crunches, that means I can eat some pizza rolls, right?” or “I just worked out for an hour and a half, I can have an extra slice of banana bread, right?” And, drinking 2 cans of pop a day after my coffee. Interestingly enough, I actually feel better if I only have one, and then drink water the rest of the day. The days my weight tends to be lower, are days after I drank mostly water the day before.

What else isn’t working is simply eating the same as I did before. I have been more aware, and not eaten that cookie when I could have. Other times, I allow myself that one piece of chocolate, which then turns into 2 or 3. While I have been more diligent about eating fresh fruit and vegetables, I have not eaten as healthy as I could have. I have not given in to the temptations of fast food (much), but I did allow myself Jimmy Johns. That’s healthy, right? 😉 I’m thinking I am going to need to give in, and cut my carbs some more. I love carbs, so that’s going to be tough. That said, eating an english muffin with peanut butter and Nutella on my days off is going to get me nowhere!

Here’s what I did this week:

Saturday: I walked on the treadmill for a half an hour, at random intervals, level 10. My speed was 3.3 MPH. Then, I walked another half hour at a speed of 3.4, level 10. By the end, I had walked 3.5 miles. That night, I did 5 sets of crunches: 17, 22, 14, 14, 25 (total 92).

Sunday: I went to the gym and walked 2.6 miles. I had a hard time finding my groove. It wasn’t until over half way in that I felt up to increasing my speed.

Monday: Mondays and Wednesdays, I work all day (8:30-8). I felt good about what I ate. I hit the lowest weight yet (still 13 lbs to go to goal). Did 102 crunches. Ouch!

Tuesday: I had to go to the grocery store to get milk and eggs. I decided to walk the 3 miles there, and carry the two items on my back on the way home. The milk sure felt heavier than I expected on the 3 mile walk home, but it was my first 6 mile walk since Fall. My feet felt good until mile 5. They started to get sore, but I didn’t get any blisters! Whew!

Wednesday: I worked all day again. I ate more snacky food than I should have. I did 126 crunches, and decided to also start the 100 Pushups Program. I only managed 3 (and that was on my knees). Talk about feeling wimpy. Oh well, guess that’s why we do a program like this!

Thursday: I did nothing towards my goals today. And, I ate at Fogo de Chao, so I overate – LOTS of meat. One off day, oh well.

Friday: I somehow managed to do 14 girlie pushups. The 100 Pushups program seems to be working, though I don’t know how. I barely could do 3 the other day. This time, I did 2, then 3, then 2, then 2, then 5! There was at least a minute rest in between sets, but still, I did it! The first set, I could barely do the 2 with my knees together. I spread my knees apart (just a little) and it made the push ups easier to do. They were still hard, and the last one hurt, but not going to complain. Later in the day, I went downstairs and worked out to the Your Shape: Fitness Evolved Game. Somewhere between an hour and an hour and a half of quite a varied workout. I did some balance work (Tai Chi and some “gym games”), some cardio boxing, and a cardio fitness test. At least it keeps track of calories based on each activity. At the end, I was able to take that calorie count and enter it into my Noom app as a custom workout.

Miles walked this week: 12.1

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: #GetHawt Week 4 Roundup – If it’s broke… « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

