Get Hawt – Week 2

This week, Jen challenged us to partner up with someone; to hold each other accountable. Jen McCown (@MidnightDBA) and I partnered up. She was a much better partner than I was. Hopefully, I made up for it in the last couple days. We have been partnering through twitter – asking each other our goals, giving each other a nudge, and commiserating together about our slip ups.

This week, I felt pretty good about my success. At least, I did until yesterday. I was down 3 lbs. Then, yesterday, mid-day, I stepped on the scale, and was shocked to see a number much higher than in the morning. I had hardly eaten, so I was a bit surprised. I begrudgingly went to the health club to work out. I could have easily not gone, but my son begging to go to the kids’ area, and Jen’s voice in the back of my head made me go. I was glad I went. I did intervals on the treadmill for just over a half hour. I ended up walking about 1.8 miles with a maximum grade of 18.2%. The tops of the “hills” were tough! My legs are aching today, but it was worth it. I also did a little bit of upper arm work, and then came home and did about 100 crunches. This morning, I stepped on the scale, and to my surprise, the number was still the full 3 lbs I had lost over the week! Talk about disheartening! Luckily, my partner and I experienced the same thing this week, so we talked about it.

Things I learned this week:

* Before I walk, I should double check the windchill! On Tuesday, I walked 1.3 miles. The temp outside was “15 degrees”. It was so windy and bitter cold, when I got back, I checked the temp again. It was 15, but the windchill put it at 1. No wonder my legs were red from the wind biting me through my jeans! I was bundled up, but long johns underneath would have been helpful with that wind.

* If I weigh myself right away in the morning, the number is lower than later in the day. I like seeing a lower number, so that’s the one I’m using on my graph. Weighing yourself at the same time every day really does make a difference – oh, and you need to have the same amount of clothes on each time. Hopping on the scale before your shower might give you the best results.

* I sleep better now that I cut some of the caffeine out of my day. I used to drink my morning coffee, and then have 3-4 (sometimes more) cans of Mtn Dew or Dr Pepper the rest of the day. I have cut down to 2 cans after my coffee, and then water. While I am much more tired at the end of the day, I also don’t have as hard a time falling asleep. I have to think that cutting down the pop is a good thing!

* This partnering up thing was a great idea! If it weren’t for Jen asking me “What are you going to do today?” It would have been easy to do nothing with freezing cold temps.

* Fiber/coffee/juice – anything that keeps things “moving” shall we say, is your friend! Don’t underestimate the extra weight that waste can put on you.

* Finally, being lazy is easy. Getting up and moving is not. But, you won’t regret it if you just do it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SQLGlenn
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 21:05:13

    I know about being lazy. I’ve been pretty lazy my whole life, but once my knee gets better I plan on walking and exercising more. You are doing good, keep up the good work.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: #GetHawt Week 2 Roundup – Buddy-buddy « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

