Get Hawt – Week 1 (my lack of progress)

Jen McCown (@JenniferMcCown) and I are alternating hosting the Get Hawt Challenge. Week one was my turn. Writing the initial post was about as far as I got. Oops.

The challenge for this week was to write our goals, and what steps we plan on taking to get there.

Goals
My goal is to feel better in my own skin. Not really a measurable goal. If I were to pick a number, I’d say I’d like to drop at least 15 lbs. If my weight didn’t change much, but I dropped some of the fat that’s accumulated on my stomach and legs since walking the 3 Day, and built muscle instead, that’d be ok. I’d like my clothes to fit me better too. It was pretty sad when I had to hang a pair of jeans back in my closet this week because I couldn’t get them on. I’d like to fit into those jeans again. I’d like to NOT look 5 months pregnant in pretty much all my clothes. I want to sit down, and not feel that small roll on my belly. I’d like to catch my reflection and not see 2 chins. Also, I am starting my training for The 3 Day early this year.

Steps to Success
As I mentioned in my previous post on my fitness/weight loss goals for the year, I got a fitness game for the XBox. Being on the edge of illness, and worrying about my son’s health issues has brought me to not being very motivated to do much fitness-wise. Yes, that’s mostly an excuse. Once I find my motivation, watch out. This week, I am admitting, it’s just not there. I plan to use the game, my membership at Lifetime Fitness, my training for the 3 Day, and being more aware of what I am putting into my body to meet my goals. My goal is to walk several 15 mile walks during my training. Getting to that point alone will make a difference.

How’d I do?
My week 1 wasn’t awesome. I did get out and walk about 2 miles one day, and did about 100 crunches another day. Other than that, I was sick, and took care of a sick kid. Oh, and I also flew to Colorado Springs, hung out with a bunch of SQL Peeps at their SQL Saturday, and flew home. Coincidentally, I had a baked potato for 2 meals in CO. I don’t feel I did too bad out there eating wise. I’m making slight improvements in cutting down on the pop, now to increase the water intake…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathikellenberger
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 20:52:49

    Sarah — thanks for getting this started.

    Goals:
    1. Lose 30 pounds this year
    2. Get back to a size 8
    3. Walk the 3 Day for the Cure with you

    Steps:
    1. Record what I eat on LiveScape
    2. Travel 100 miles on foot each month
    3. Drink more water and tea
    4. More veggies and fruit
    5. Remember that every restaurant meal is not a celebration
    6. Eat half of what I think I will want

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 21:27:28

    Now if I can just remember that blog I created…HA! Like Kathi, I’ll just post my goals here for now:

    Lose 20 lbs. I’d like to lose more, but feel this is realistic.

    I plan to do at least 1 hour of exercise 4x per week, be it dance class or zumba or just Kinect dance central with the kids. Anything beats sitting on the couch!

    I’ve already cut a lot of junk out of my diet, but I should probably add more fiber and drink more water. I’ve done really well at adding more veggies to my plate every day, though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

