A Get Hawt New Year

This past year, I participated in my friend Jen’s Get Hawt blog party with a group of other people who had different weight loss, diet, fitness, and otherwise health-related goals. I was training for the Susan G. Komen 3 Day For the Cure, so the timing was perfect for me. I was walking a lot, eating better (or trying to), and I was looking better too (just on time for my wedding).

An update: since The 3 Day, I have done nothing. At least from a physical standpoint. I have gone back to drinking more pop than I should, and I have gained back whatever I lost during the initial challenge. All the muscle tone I had gained is gone, and the fat is back. In fact, this week, I have hit my all time low (or should I say high) as far as my weight goes.

Starting next month, Jen and I are going to lead another Get Hawt Challenge. She had a great pre-quel post where she was brutally honest about where she’s at.

I don’t know that I can be that open, but let’s just say I am currently at a weight I haven’t touched since I was pregnant. That is something that hugely disgusts me!! I look in the mirror, and I see the extra fat, I see my skin breaking out like a teenager, and I wonder what the heck is happening!?!

What’s happening, is that my Mom was right (again). She told me that when she hit 32, her metabolism quit working the same. When I was 32, I looked awesome. I got divorced, I was busy, I was so thin, my massage therapist jokingly asked me if I wanted a sandwich. Here I am, just 2 years later, over 20 lbs heavier. That’s a lot of weight to put on. My metabolism slowed down at 33 – WAY down!!

What am I going to do about it? Well, for starters, I started stepping on a scale. I used to avoid them as much as possible. I figured maybe being aware of what I weigh would help me. I created a spreadsheet where I will track my weight every day. I started a few days ago, and confirmed my suspicions that our scale was broken. It was going up and down by over 5 lbs in a day, sticking on numbers, and even starting off the 0 mark. Today, I went and got a digital scale. The number that showed up was about 5 lbs. higher than the number on the other scale. 😦 You know what that’s called? Motivation! So, now that my numbers are a bit skewed, it should start showing some consistency.

My husband got me a game for the XBox 360 that I’ve wanted for a while: Your Shape, Fitness Evolved. It shows a silhouette of you. It mimics your every move, like a shadow that doesn’t change with the location of the sun. I do NOT like what I “look like” on the screen. The sad thing, is that I know it’s pretty accurate. I am going to start working out with the game. I am looking forward to seeing the progress as my outline gets smaller.

I am not going to pretend to go on a diet, because I know I can’t restrict myself. I am going to be more aware of what’s going on with my body, and of what I put into it. Between tracking my weight, watching my figure shrink, and focusing on exercise, I should be looking and feeling better soon. My goals are mainly in regards to how I look and feel. It’s not about numbers. That said, I wouldn’t mind dropping about 15 lbs or so.

Of course, I’ll be posting my progress. Hopefully, it’s all good! 😉 If you’d like to join us in supporting each other’s efforts, please let me or Jen (@JenniferMcCown) know.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pragmatic Laziness week 2 – the holiday hop « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  2. Trackback: It takes a village « My Quest: 40 by 40 in 2012
  3. kathikellenberger
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 20:44:04

    My mom told me I would gain weight when I turned 40. She was right and I have been struggling since then.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Time to Get Healthy: Attempt #42 | My Life as a Dancem0m

Leave a Reply

