Thanksgiving Day

People are posting all over the internet what they are thankful for. I am thankful for so many things: my kids, my husband, my family, my newly extended family, my friends, my job, our new house…

When I was growing up, Thanksgiving was always at my grandma and grandpa’s house. Everyone was there, and we ate lots of food. I can’t recall anything other than turkey, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, and rolls. I know there was other food too, but I can’t remember what else. I also remember that I was often sick on Thanksgiving. I’d eat, and then sleep on the couch, trying not to breathe on anyone else. Once my grandma died in 1997, Thanksgiving traditions changed. We started going to my mom’s husband’s family. Then, I started going to my ex-husband’s family. The food was delicious. We ate too much, football was on TV, the kids got crazy, and naps were taken on the couch.

Fast forward a couple of years (like 10). I got divorced, and went to Thanksgiving at my Mom’s husband’s family again. It was weird, being there without my kids (they go with their dad on Thanksgiving). People kept asking me how I was doing… I was doing fine until I kept getting reminded that things were different than any other year.

I digress… I made it through that first Thanksgiving post-divorce. Here I am a few years later, re-married, and on year two of my new Thanksgiving tradition. We had Jason’s family over to our new house. Two of his brothers (plus one’s wife), two nephews, his mom and dad, and my brother came. We made turkey, mac and cheese, green bean casserole, deviled eggs, scalloped corn, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing, cranberries, rolls, and broccoli/cauliflower. The food was great.

Last year, we crammed all these people (except my brother) into a house that was too small for all of us. We had room in our new house for everyone. It was so relaxing. After dinner, we all went downstairs for a few games of the newest version of Scene It. I suck at that game, but it was fun. Jason and his middle brother get pretty competitive, so we had to get a new version. The level of competition didn’t decrease. Jason’s mom even got in on the fun. After getting our butts kicked, we went back for pie. We had pumpkin pie, apple crumble, and fruit whip salad.

Once the day was done, we cleaned up, crammed the fridge full of leftovers, and then sat down to digest. We watched The Adjustment Bureau. It was a good movie with a bad kiss. The day is over, and it was a good one. I’m thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

