What I Learned on the 3 Day Walk

I can’t believe it’s been a month and a half since I walked the Twin Cities’ 3 Day For the Cure. I realized I haven’t blogged about the last day yet, probably because I’d just assume block that day out of my mind. I will blog about it, maybe next week sometime. I have spent a lot of time reflecting on why my feet were in such rough shape after the event. The last layers from my blisters finally just came off… TMI, and a little gross, I know, but that was my reality!

So, what did I learn that I will do differently next time? (…and yes, I WILL be doing The 3 Day again)

#1 – Don’t replace my insoles right before the big walk. A couple weeks before, I followed the advice I had gotten months before from my sports’ trainer, I got new insoles for my shoes. Without even thinking, I threw out the old ones. That was a bad idea! The new ones were less than comfortable. A couple days before the event, I bought another set of new ones. They were the kind you cut to fit your shoes. I cut one of them too short, so it would have rubbed right along the bottom of my toes. I couldn’t use them because I knew for sure they would cause blisters. If I’d have had a 2nd pair of shoes, or better insoles, I’m convinced I wouldn’t have had the number (or size) of blisters I had.

#2 – My longest training walk was about 10 miles, I think. Not a huge deal, because I did still end up at about 200 miles walked during training. There were many (more than I would have expected) people who did little to no training whatsoever. That said, I should have done a couple of training walks of 15-17 miles. Each of the 3 days, about mile 15 seemed to be about where I started to really get sore. Hips, feet, whole body… exhausted…

#3 – Another thing that I think I would do differently, was that we took a nice long time at the pit stops on Day 1. We thought we were doing everything right; eating, drinking water and gatorade, going to the bathroom, stretching, and sitting to rest. All but the last one were good ideas. By the end of the 3 Day, sitting = stiffness. The first day, we didn’t notice it so much, but as the miles went on, and our paces slowed, we appreciated having more time to get to those next pit stops. We learned not to take so much time at the stops, unless we really needed it.

#4 – I had regular bandaids in my backpack, but next time, I will have blister bandaids along. One of our team members had some, and they seemed to help. Next year, as soon as I feel any hot spots, I’ll use the blister bandaids for the added protection they provided.

#5 – I did some stretching at the beginning of the day, and a little throughout, but I could have done a better job of stretching afterwards.

#6 – I used to go the chiropractor at least once every 3 weeks. I hadn’t gone in quite a while before hand, and I certainly should have had an appointment for the day after. Next time, I will make sure I have a fresh adjustment before the walk so everything works properly, and I will have an appointment for the day after.

The Susan G. Komen 3 Day was a great experience. Despite the pain, blisters, and fatigue, I will definitely do it again. Next year, I will remember these things I learned, and hopefully will have less pain and blisters.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 19:25:06

    I would definitely recommend using duct tape on your hot spots next time!!! This was my second walk. I hardly trained (I have an 9 month old so finding time to walk was difficult) besides one 11 mile walk, used only 1 bandaid the whole walk and only got one blister. It’s between my big and second toe on my right foot. Strange I know! Anytime I felt a hot spot I put on the duct tape. By day three my feet were covered in pink duct tape, but no blisters. Most of the safety crew carry it with them. Some of the pit stops had it too. Just don’t ask medical…they will look at you funny! Keep on walking 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Relay for Life 2013 | My Life as a Dancem0m

Leave a Reply

