4 Weeks to Go!

After taking a week off to finalize wedding details, get married, etc. I am back on to focusing on my training. The 60 mile, 3 day walk is only 4 weeks away! I am feeling close to ready. After following the Boston 3 Day on twitter (#the3day), I am so excited!! It’s gonna be an awesome experience!

The first half of the week, it was REALLY hot, and I was not feeling well at all! I didn’t do any training.

Wednesday: There was a heat index of about a million degrees, or so it felt. The window A/C units couldn’t keep up, so the kids and I decided to walk up to the beach. It’s about 1.75 miles or so. I made sure we all had plenty of water, and on we went. In hind sight, we probably should have driven there… We were over halfway there before I really noticed just how hot it was. The beach we went to was clean, and quite shaded. It was very comfortable for me to hang out and watch the kids play. We ended up staying for an hour and a half. The temperature had dropped significantly by the time we walked home. We stopped at home to drop off the beach bag and see if Jason wanted to come to DQ with us. He didn’t, so we walked up there… I figured the kids deserved a treat since they walked 4.5 miles with me!

Friday: After dropping off my kids at their dad’s, Jason and I went jet skiing. I forgot how tiring it can be to ride for 2 hours. No walking for this girl after riding that jet ski!

Saturday: Jason and I hung out at home the first half of the day, but then headed out for more jet skiing. After 2 hours, my arms and thumb were sore, my legs/butt hurt from sitting on the jet ski for so long. I had a lot of fun – I’m finally starting to feel more comfortable at 30 miles an hour, was jumping some waves, fish-tailing some, and whipping around in some pretty good loops. Since I am still fairly new to jet skiing, I was also holding on for dear life! Man, am I sore!

When we got home and ate, Duke and I headed out for a 2.5 mile walk. We went the same path I often go, down around the park and back. This time, I opted to go the opposite way as usual, since I was already worn out… the idea of walking up a big hill at the end did NOT appeal to me! Downhill was a much better choice. By the time I got home, my thighs and hips were really ready for a break.

Sunday
I had a training walk scheduled. One person RSVP’d, but no on showed up. The training walk was scheduled to be 7.7 miles. Since I was on my own, I decided to alter the route, and ended up walking 8.42 miles! My hips, thighs, buns were still sore from all the jet skiing. At about 6 miles, I could have easily taken the short cut home. I thought about it, but didn’t want to back out of my commitment to walk about 8 miles. I sucked it up, and kept going! My whole body ached by that last mile or so, but on I went. I need to keep working on the 8 mile walks, so my body doesn’t get so sore from them.

Miles this week: 15.42
Total miles to date: 186.5
Fundraising progress: $1507/$2300 (only $793 to go!)

Related links: My fundraising page
Another Reason to Walk For the Cure

Get Hawt Challenge: The blog challenge continues, this week’s topic: food. I don’t have much to say on this… I have been trying to eat healthier, at least somewhat, but don’t pay too close of attention most of the time. I’ve been bad on drinking pop, but not having Dr. Pepper or Mtn Dew in the house seems to be helping. Coke gives me a headache, so I can only drink small amounts. I just have to remember to replace the normal amount of caffeinated beverage with water or something else so I don’t get dehydrated.

Leave a Reply

