6 more weeks


I’m feeling really good about the progress I made this week. I got some days with decent mileage in, and did a bit of ab work. Weeks like this make me feel really proud of myself! Jason told me this morning that he’s proud of me and how seriously I am taking “this walking thing” too. It’s great to have support!

Monday: The nice thing about all the training I have been doing, is that I look for reasons to walk a little more. When we went to the 4th of July parade, we parked about 3/4 miles away from where we sat. Then, we went to the lake. The kids and I parked in the far lot, and accidentally-on purpose missed the shuttle to the boat landing. We had to walk a mile from the van to the boat landing and beach. Then, the same thing “happened” as we walked back. It was good for the kids to walk, even if they complained at the end. I ended up at about 3.25 miles for the day.

Tuesday: Grace and Dysin went on a 4.82 mile walk with me. It was supposed to be 6 miles, but rather than push two obviously tired kids who weren’t complaining one bit, we just cut a part out of our walk. It was fine. There were lots of hills, so it was a good push for my body.

Wednesday: Went out to weed gardens… that’s about as close to exercise as I got with a killer headache… on the upside, we also got our marriage license application taken care of today.

Thursday: If only I had walked as much as I drove today… that’s about all I did, ALL DAY! I drove from here to Timbuktu, over to B.F. Egypt, and back again… the day completely disappeared, and so did my desire to even leave the house again! I did manage to do about 15 minutes of ab work (aka crunches galore).

Friday: Hung out with the kids all day.

Saturday: Jason left early for his bachelor party, so I went for a LONG walk. I took Duke with me for the first 6 miles or so. He was obviously tired and worn out, since I was walking faster than him at that point. After dropping him off at home, I went out to walk a little over 2 more miles. My total for the day was 8.2 miles. It wasn’t too bad. About mile 5, my buns were burning, and my right hip/leg were feeling a bit achy. My toes were also hurting a bit, which was strange, since I haven’t had any issues with my feet in a while. I’m wondering if the heat was making my feet swell, and that’s what was bothering them? I stretched a bit when I dropped Duke off, filled up my water bottle again, and headed back out. I was sweating pretty good by the time I got to the park (my half-way point). I was starting to feel a bit out of breath, and was dreading the huge hill ahead of me. My hips were feeling tight, and I was feeling tired, but I pushed through and made it home with throbbing feet.

They were so happy when I got a pedicure later in the day!! It was the first time in a long time I’ve had one. With all the walking I’ve been doing, my feet were in rough shape. I was actually pretty embarrassed how bad they were.

That night I wore wedge heels when I went out with some friends. Not a good idea with sore hips. By the end of the night (and a few drinks later), the heels, and my hips no longer bothered me.

Sunday: Today my ankles were bothering me some. I walked anyway, but chose not to bring the dog this time. I walked 3.2 miles. My side/stomach was aching, my ankles continued to ache, and my knee was sore by the end. Also, I should have listened to the guy who gave me my pedicure when he said not to walk for a few days afterwards. My feet were definitely tender most of the walk… Nevertheless, I walked. It bumped me up to my highest weekly total, about the equivalent of one day of the 3 Day Walk! I need to get some double digit days in to really prepare me…

Miles this week: 19.47 (My highest week-to-date total)!
Total miles to date: 171.08
Fundraising progress: $1495/$2300 (only $805 to go)

Related link: My fundraising page

Get Hawt: We don’t really have a theme for the week in the Get Hawt Blog Party. I want to spend a minute on safety… Yesterday, while I was on my long walk, I passed a drive way with a car sticking half way in the road. I didn’t think anything of it until about a block or two down the road when the same car pulled up next to me on the street. I don’t know if they tried to talk to me when I was walking by, since I was breaking the rules and had my headphones in. Anyway, when the car pulled up, the guy rolled down his window. I pulled out one of my earbuds, and looked over. The driver (who looked like Chris Rock), asked me if I was married. I said yes (close enough). He shrugged and said, “Huh, lucky guy!” I said “Thank you!” In my head, I was thinking, “Does that seriously work for people? What did he think, I’d say no and jump in his car with my dog?” While it was kind of flattering, it was a bit weird. What was creepy, was that he followed me for a couple of blocks before turning.

It was the first time I got nervous when I was walking, even if it was only for a moment. It made me think a bit about safety .. how do I know that where I’m walking is safe? I want to know from my readers, what do you do to make sure you are safe while walking or running?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tsqlprincess
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 16:36:46

    Wow. That guys sounded creepy. I’m glad you’re safe, though. The safety aspect is a good question. Personally, I just try to be aware of my surroundings and keep a general eye on who’s around. I also try to make sure I’m in a public area where I’m highly visible. I can be paranoid so I don’t like to be in areas that are secluded. I also try to trust my gut. I’ve learned that if my gut is saying “something isn’t right”, I listen to it. Meaning, if I get a bad or weird vibe from someone, I keep my distance.

    Reply

  2. Sarah Sjolander
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 17:05:11

    I was definitely in a public place, since I was walking down the street! I did turn down my MP3 player a bit after that though.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #013 – With Roundup Goodness! « Jen's Blog: We Owls
  4. Trackback: Invitation to Get Hawt Friday #014 « Jen's Blog: We Owls

Leave a Reply

