11 Down… 13 To Go

Wow – so many life changes are coming up so soon! I’m moving to MN next week, my wedding is less than 2 months away, and the walk is about 3 months away!! Once I move, I can really crank up the training. Right now, it’s hard to find time to walk long distances. I’m trying to get the miles in when I can, but with so much to do, it’s a bit overwhelming!

Monday, I was still sore from Saturday’s long walk, and from hauling boxes up and down steps, walking around Ikea, etc.

Tuesday, I just didn’t have time to walk. I honestly can’t tell you what I did, but I know I didn’t walk or train!

Wednesday, I hoped to get a walk in, but didn’t get a chance. I did go to dance class, and worked my butt off! I think I’m ready for the recital this weekend (I hope). I’m really feeling nervous about it!

Thursday: I walked to and from the dentist this morning for a total of 2.2 miles. My knee was really sore today. I’m guessing from the dampness in the air. In the afternoon, I walked up to the day care where I work, to pick up Michael. One mile there, and one mile back. Michael ran quite a bit of the way. It was great! 4.2 miles for the day.

Friday: I worked the first half of the day, and then went to run some errands. A bunch of stuff to Goodwill, getting the rest of the materials for wedding invitations, looking for the finishing touches on my dance costume, pick up Grace at school, Michael at the child care center, then run home to pick up a table I was donating to the Center, and then home. After all that, I somehow had energy left to go for a walk with Michael, a couple of neighbor kids, and Duke. We went through the path in the woods. We also decided to explore a couple of other paths… It was a lot of fun! We saw some gorgeous wild flowers that I had never seen before, we saw a pelvis and vertebrae of some animal hanging on a tree branch…it was a lot of uneven terrain, hills, and most of all, fun! According to gmap-pedometer.com, it was about 3.1 miles. I think it was more, but back trails in the woods are hard to plot!

Saturday: I had dress rehearsal this morning. About 15 minutes of cross-training on the schedule! The rest of the day has been spent walking around stores, and working on wedding invitations. In retrospect, it might have been worth the extra money to have ordered them instead of making them. I really like how they turned out though, so… just have to get them done and in the mail!

Sunday: Dance recital day. I’m actually writing this Monday, because it was such a long day, I didn’t want to spend a lot of time at the computer by the time I got home and got the kids to bed! It was a long day of dancing, running back and forth back stage helping Grace with all her costume changes, etc… It might not have been a clocked mileage day, but I definitely got my exercise!!

Miles this week: 7.3 (My 2nd lowest week since I began my training. I’m almost surprised I even got that many! I did do a lot of dancing this week though with rehearsals, recital, etc.)
Total miles to date: 110.18
Fundraising progress: $1240/$2300
(Second week in a row with no increase.)

Get Hawt Challenge: Jen’s Get Hawt Challenge continues (can’t believe it’s been 6 weeks already)! It’s encouraging to read other peoples’ progress (or sometimes lack of). It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who struggles to stay on track sometimes. This week, Jen suggested we have a bikini theme?? Well… I feel far from ready to wear a bikini proudly, but I’m getting closer each week. Maybe if I do more arm, thigh, and mid-section work, I’ll be able to wear one proudly on my honeymoon! I’m not very confident that will happen… Here’s her most recent post in the Get Hawt blog party/challenge!

I’ve noticed something. A couple of weeks ago, I blogged about how I wasn’t eating as much junk or drinking as much pop. I think I may have jinxed myself!! If you know me, you know I am a nervous/stress eater. I HAD been doing so well, but the past two weeks, the stress of getting ready to move has gotten to me. I am craving junk food!! I have no will power, so I have been feeding my body lots of unhealthy food, pop, etc. It’s no wonder that my energy and motivation have declined these past couple weeks! I HAVE to get better at telling myself, just because my body is telling me it wants the junk, doesn’t mean I have to give in to it! I don’t have to crack open that can of Dr. Pepper, or get the sour cream and Doritos out! The good thing is that chocolate hasn’t been as appealing to me, but Doritos have been my weakness! Being aware of the problem doesn’t fix it, but I can be more mindful of what/when I am eating…

Related links:
10 Down… 14 To Go
9 Down… 15 To Go
8 Down… 16 To Go
7 Down… 17 To Go
6 Down…18 To Go
5 Down … 19 To Go
4 Down… 20 To Go
3 Down… 21 To Go
2 Down…22 to Go
Walking for a Cure

Leave a Reply

