Amazing women

Every day, I am reminded of the amazing women that surround me! I know women who have amazing faith in God, who are battling breast cancer, and who are fighting lung cancer. I know women who have lost babies, have special needs children, and who struggle to single parent. I know women who are training for half marathons, and for the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk. I know women who have acted as CEO for companies, and who stay home to take care of their children. The strength of women that I know is amazing!

Disclaimer: I’m not discounting the strength of the men that I know who have gone through many of the same things these women have. Their pain, their faith, and their strength is equally as real, and equally as amazing. Today though, I am simply celebrating women.

I don’t really know where to begin, so I’ll start with the one who inspired me to write this post in the first place. I read the blog post of one of the moms in the child care center. Molly Lee had an incredibly rough 2010. She lost 2 unborn babies, and watched her friend’s child pass away due to a birth defect. She has a 4 year old son who keeps her busy. Yet, no matter her struggles, Molly always has a smile on her face. She has tremendous faith, which I’m sure is a large part of how she can stay so strong. Reading through her past posts, I have an idea of the emotional struggle she went through. Despite her struggles, she puts on a brave face for her son and everyone else around her. This year, God has big plans for Molly. We don’t know what those are yet, but already, he has put her on the air in the mornings at the local Christian radio station, WWIB. What a blessing for her, and all the listeners of that station!

The next woman I want to honor is Carrie Malicki. Carrie and I used to live in the same cul-de-sac. We met in the spring as we were outside with our children, and became instant friends. She inspired me to make some much-needed changes in my life. I took a year off working at the child care center to nanny her 2 boys. Carrie and her family then moved to the other side of town. Since then, Carrie was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer. Shortly after she was diagnosed, her mother was too. You can read her story here. Carrie is the reason I am walking 60 miles in the 3-Day Walk for a Cure. I can’t battle for her, but I can help raise money to fund research to find a cure for breast cancer!

Another amazing woman I know that is battling cancer is Suzy Goodsell. Suzy was the leader of a Spiritual Journaling group I was part of years ago. I met her when I started working in the nursery at our church. She was an at-home mom of 3 children. She had incredible artistic and writing talents, a heart for God like I had rarely seen before, and over-all was a great person. I looked to her as a sort of spiritual mentor. After I moved to WI, we lost touch for a while. I later found out she had since gotten divorced, had started working outside the home, and was diagnosed with lung cancer. Wow, that’s a lot of changes in the year and a half or so since I had last seen her! She continues to fight her cancer with all she’s got. She’s remains very positive, holds fast to her faith, and lives every day to the fullest. She has even written a book about the first year of her journey with cancer, called One Foot in the Joy.

I can’t talk about inspiring women without talking about my mom, Patty Kabus. My mom had my brother and I at a young age. As a single teen mom of two during a time when it was not common, she had a lot of struggles. I was certainly not an angel (though my mom seems to remember it differently). I know I gave her a tough time in my teen years. My brother also had many struggles that made it difficult to parent him. I don’t know how my mom held on to her sanity during those years! She holds strong to her faith in God. That must be what got her through all the craziness our family went through. Now that we are adults living mostly normal lives as parents, we can really appreciate all our mom went through for us!! She has been a parent, a friend, and an inspiration through all the years. I am very proud that she has decided to walk beside me in the 3 Day Walk!

I could go on and on about all the amazing women I know. Kim, my neighbor who has an autistic son, yet has the patience of a saint is another one who amazes me. I know so many other women who stay strong, despite tough situations in their lives, I could not possibly name them all!

Celebrate the strong, amazing, incredible women you know. I’d love to hear about them in the comments section.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Molly Lee
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:13:08

    SMUSH – you have such kind words Sarah! – can you believe I’m at a loss of word – thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

