Training Shoes

The Susan G Komen site has a ton of tools for its participants. I have read a lot on training for the walk, and have a ton more to read. I have read (and been given) a lot of different advice on shoes. I’ve read to only buy walking shoes, and to only buy running shoes. I’ve read to buy them too big, and to buy them that fit right, but to make sure they were well broken in. The one thing that has been consistent, is the recommendation to have two pairs of well broken in shoes.

I am ready to start my training, but my tennis shoes are so old, that I get shin splints every time I wear them for anything other than every day use. I went to the mall today, and went into Scheels to look at shoes. I wasn’t sure if I was actually going to buy any or not, but I wanted to get an idea of what to expect.

I went in and started talking to one of the guys that worked in the shoe dept. I told him what I was training for, and he recommended buying running shoes. He looked at my feet, and said because my arches were so high, (maybe I should have been a ballerina after all?) I should get shoes that don’t have extra support in the arches. That is the opposite of what I would have thought. He brought out a couple of different shoes for me to try. Two of the pairs I tried were almost identical feeling. I ended up buying a Pair of Nikes. Not because they were the best or most comfortable, but because they were only $100. They had some extra cushioning in the toes though, so I figured they would be the best to use while I start my training. I figured I would get my body used to walking consistently and getting some distance in, and hopefully avoid shin splints in the mean time. I’m hoping the extra cushioning will help prevent those. As I’m further in my training, I will spend the $125 to buy the other pair I really liked, (he wrote down the other ones so I don’t forget) get those broken in, and rock the distances.

Another piece of advice he gave me is to wear synthetic socks. He said they will wisk away the moisture, and will help prevent blisters. I bought one pair to see if they really make a difference. I’ll keep you posted.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Matt L.
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 08:39:42

    Thanks for visiting the store! Glad that you found what you were looking for, were looking forward to your next visit.

    Matt L.
    scheels.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

