Post-Christmas Blues

Every year, Thanksgiving passes, and my Christmas cheer begins. I get caught up in the whirlwind of activity, Christmas Music, Holiday Baking, shopping, etc. I thrive on the pending excitement of Christmas. Children everywhere are on a “Christmas High”. I think I get it just as bad as the kids!

Christmas festivities come and go, and then what? Then comes the dreaded work. Around New Year’s, I take down the tree and obvious Christmas decorations. I usually leave my snowman decorations up until February though, just ’cause. There’s also the putting away of all the new things. My kids are not great at cleaning up anyway (a trait they unfortunately get from me). The cleaning up is tedious and somewhat depressing. It means the holiday is officially over.

The next couple months are cold and dreary. It’s dark when I leave for work, it’s dark when I get home. There is this feeling of being cooped up. It’s hard not to feel a bit bummed out. I tend to lose motivation to do much of anything between about January 1st and March 1st. Naps become my favorite past time, and my house becomes messier than ever…

This year, I vow not to let that happen! I hate to even admit this publicly, but I’ve gotten rather lazy over the past year. I’m going to make a point to DO something productive every day. I’m going to play with my kids more, and limit the time I allow myself to sit at the computer. It’s going to be difficult for me, but it’s going to be my priority. I’m also going to make myself exercise in some form at least 5 days a week. I’m going to keep looking towards Spring, and not let the winter blues get to me this year.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Molly Lee
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 14:00:36

    YOU GO GIRL!!!! YOU CAN DO THIS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

